Godavari River

Fast Facts

Place of Origin : Trimbak in Nasik of Maharashtra

Compliance : Comes under the Seven River of Sindhus (Indus Valley Civilization)

Place of Pilgrimage : Trimbakeshwar, Nasik, Nanded, Basar



There are seven main/ sacred rivers in India – Ganga, Yamuna, Sindhu, Saraswati, Godavari, Narmada and Kaveri. All of them have their own significance. But there is one thing which is common to all – they all come from the melted Ice of Himalayas.

In a Religious Country like India, the water of Rivers is not only used for irrigation purposes, but they are also revered as Goddesses. They are often prayed, fasts are kept to keep them happy and temples are built in their respect. There are also a number of festivals held in their respect. Various religious and cultural festivals are held on the banks of rivers and people feel blessed by taking a dip in the holy waters of these rivers.

Godavri, out of all the seven rivers have a special significance.

Inquiry Form

/ /

(upto 12 yrs.)

captcha Please type the text in the inputbox and send